Things I know

Fjords vol. 1:
“Airplane” to “Unkind Swans”
Zachary Schomburg

Things I Know
The thing I know is that when we were sitting on that hill and I was wearing the moth’s wing earrings you bought me, I hated your tongue in my mouth. The thing I know is that I loved you most at the bookstore, when I looked up at you from the children’s section where I had found a tiny blue stool and we smiled above our respective books. The thing I know is that I never loved you. Facts, not people, break hearts. This one, mine.

The Very Opposite

Fjords vol. 1:
“Airplane” to “Unkind Swans”
Zachary Schomburg

The Very Opposite
There has never been a better time for this than now, she said aloud. The boy looked at his toe on the tiled floor. The feeling was of one of distrust. Also disappointment. She sighed extra audibly even though he was directly in front of her and there was no one else in the room to hear. He was expecting something else. Stars and flashes of bright lights and fairy-dust sprinkles that felt like flying. He cracked his big toe on his left foot. The noise was jarring.